Names and the Moon

As a child I was obsessed with looking up what names meant. I loved to know what hidden meaning there was in a name and if they matched the people I knew. I was always so excited to know that my name had a cool meaning behind it and when I was older and got into Paganism it made me feel like it was fate. I was meant to be a witch. I remember playing on the porch at my dad’s house when I was 6 or 7 and telling my friends I wanted to be a witch when I grew up. Goal achieved little me. Way to go.

Of course the story of why I got named what I did wasn’t so cool. My mom just liked the name and had an albino rat with the same name. That is less mystical, but what do you do? Ha!

My given name Cynthia is Greek in origin. Quote below from Behindthename.com

Latinized form of Greek Κυνθια (Kynthia) which means “woman from Kynthos”. This was an epithet of the Greek moon goddess Artemis, given because Kynthos was the mountain on Delos on which she and her twin brother Apollo were born. It was not used as a given name until the Renaissance, and it did not become common in the English-speaking world until the 19th century.

I liked to tell people my name meant moon goddess as a baby pagan. We all went through that stage where we wanted everything to be super special, super woo woo and mystical. Everything is a sign at that point in our path. No judgement, we all go through it.  I also joked that this was the reason I had dayglow white skin. Glowing like the moon! It sounded better than “I’m just super, super pasty”.

Strangely, with this link to my name, I have never worked with the Greek Pantheon in any seriousness. I remember once pondering something about Hera and having Bast get seriously angry about how I wasn’t supposed to work with them. It felt like pantheon jealousy at the time, but I listened. Maybe it is something to re-visit sometime.

I do pay attention to the phases of the moon. I have tracked how I felt in the past and I know that around the Full Moon I don’t sleep well. I wake up feeling rested despite this, but the Full Moon energy gets in me and I am restless, wake up often and this phase is my time to get shit done.

Apparently my son has inherited this from me. Last month I was pondering why he had been sleeping so well and then had 3 days where he didn’t and why it felt like this cycle had happened before. Then I realized it was the 3 days of the Full Moon. So last night when he got super restless and full of energy I knew that he is a moon baby like his mama. I’ll track it for a few more months to make sure, but it is looking like he gets the moon crazies too.

Which funnily enough, his fave song from the newborn stage was “Werewolves of London” Awwwoooooo!

Bright blessings this Full Moon. I hope you get the rest you need!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

