Still here

Every day for the last 2 weeks people have been calling, emailing or popping their heads into my office. “Still here?” they ask. Yes, yes I am still here and yes I am still full of baby.

Our official due date was May 14th so I am sure we will soon be meeting this little squirmy person. It has been interesting to me to see who has been so excited about this baby and who hasn’t been. Some of the faculty here have been crazy excited, and many of them were men. I wasn’t really expecting that, but it is cool.

My coworkers have been super supportive and wonderful. Even on the days I lean back in my chair and stare at the ceiling for chunks of time. I’ve taken many walks through the halls, visited the ice machine in our kitchens over and over, and had students and staff stop me to talk about the baby.

I have been very lucky. No one has invaded my space, no one has tried to touch me without my approval and while yes, there has been a lot of advice and many stories, it wasn’t as bad as I worried it would be.

I am missing having a spiritual/friend community, but I understood some time ago that I will not have the large and wonderful friend group and community here I had back home. At this point I think I’d be happy to have a few people in my life that are on the same wavelength that I am spiritual wise. I am sure people will be like “Well its not like you have gone out of your way to do anything” but when moving and making a baby there is only so much energy left over. I tried to make it out to a few events, and I even created a few of my own, and well they didn’t work out the way I had hoped. Such is life when you are the newcomer.

I’m not sure how my coven will work out with the baby. It will be a learning process, and we’ll see if I can even get things rolling again. I’ve been a bit focused inwards the last 9 months, but I feel that is appropriate for the journey I was taking.

I have pondered having a Wiccaning for the baby, but then I thought about it. Of the 4 or 5 pagans in town that I would actually want to invite, only 1 or 2 would most likely show up. People seem to have crazy schedules and I have had people cancel on me at the last minute many times since I moved here. I suppose I could have one with just myself and maybe family, but I don’t know.  I’ll play that one by ear.

For now I will continue to monitor squirmy mcsquirmster here and try to keep my energy up. I’ve continued to walk and move around a ton, despite how tired it can make me. I haven’t been stretching as much as I probably should, but I hit a point where it started to hurt with all the ligaments moving around or whatever they do. Bodies are weird.

The wee one is not so wee anymore so I’ll have to start calling her the tween. She has been very fascinated by my belly and the baby. It has been adorable watching her tell her dad to stop sassing me or to make me what I want etc because “SHES PREGNANT DAD” It makes us all giggle.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Still here

Leave a Reply

