Lent, life and creativity

For the last few years I have been “observing” Lent. I know several pagans will use Lent in their practice, but I started this because my hubby grew up Catholic and I think traditions are important. I also feel a little bit of sacrifice is important to remind us to be grateful for things in our lives.

Ash Wednesday snuck up on us this year though, so I feel like we weren’t ready for it. We had a good discussion about things in our life and what we want. In the end we decided on a plan that wasn’t necessarily giving up things, but were things that would help us stay focused and get healthy. We’re going to stop eating out, we’re going to stick to our GF diet, and stick to our chore list I had created for us. My hope is that we can use this time to find our groove with our habits and reflect on what we are putting into our bodies. We’ve done really well with eating healthier and our grocery buggy is full of veggies and fruit and non processed things, but we still eat out and fall off the wagon that way.

It is also means I need to stick to my meal planning. Every so often I forget to do it and bam… everything falls apart.

The winter feels like it will never end. At Imbolc I asked Brigid to help me find my creativity again and she has answered. I’ve been inspired by multiple projects and I am actually getting work done on them. The cold winter had sapped all my energy, but I am at least feeling the urge to do things again. The newest thing is quilting. I have always loved to sew, but had fallen out of the practice. I have been getting back into it with little projects here and there, but I have been inspired by all the graphic prints I have been finding. We’ll see where this takes me. Typical Air sign, I must craft all the things!

I also picked up a few patterns for Barbie clothes and also for a few dresses for me. I will keep myself busy. It helps keep me from feeling stuck in the house.

Our weekend was full of colouring and now I have several new things to hang in my cubicle. The wee one made me a few pictures and the hubby coloured me a mini Mountie. We also spent the afternoon colouring different animals I had printed out. I told the wee one we could hang them in her room and she is looking forward to that. She picked which ones she wants up and now I just have to get a few frames.  For now though, they are hanging on our gallery string in the living room.  I have mini clothes pins and we hang our art over the fireplace whenever we create things with her. Its cheery and has more space then the fridge.

My planning for Ostara is coming along. I can’t wait to get out of the house and do things. My 101 class is wrapping up in the next 2 weeks. I think I am also going to try planning a coffee meet up, just to get out and be social.

I hope you are all doing well as we inch towards the spring!

Leave a Reply

